Minutes for the taurahere hui at Te Mangungu Marae 26 July 2015

28 July 2015 

Minutes for the taurahere hui at Te Mangungu Marae, 26 July.

Kia ora koutou,

A few people gathered before the hui at 10 am at Te Mangungu for kapa haka practise. Led by Ngaire McClutchie, songs included Hikurangi Te Maunga (tune to Velvet Waters) and Ehara tenei i te maunga nekeneke. It was decided that in future kapa haka will be held an hour before every taurahere hui.

The next hui is scheduled for 23 August at Kokiri Marae. Kapa haka at 10 am followed by hui at 11 am.

Te Mangungu hui started at 11 am

  • Mihi - Matehaere Konia.
  • Karakia - Cecilia Rooderkerk
  • Apologies - Sir Tamati, Pania Houkamau-Ngaheu, Riripeti Reedy, Keith Paenga, Puti Mackey.

Political Working Group:

Beau gave a brief background on the political strategy which included: the establishment of the Political working group; the candidate nomination process and finally the selection of Mei Reedy-Taare and Tina Olsen-Ratana to stand for the TRONPnui Board elections. There was also discussion about the ongoing difficulties associated with the registration process; Sir Tamati's letter challenging the registration processes and that after a month of silence, a response was received from the TRONPnui Chair, Herewini Parata. Copies were made available to the hui. It was agreed that the letter from TRONPnui will be available on the Te Taurahere o Ngati Porou ki Poneke website. Click here

The political strategy was discussed in some detail:

It was explained that the priority is to get as many people as possible registered to vote in either rohenga 4 (to vote for Mei ) or rohenga 7 (to vote for Tina). The key message was to encourage people already registered to change rohenga to 4 or 7. To do this - especially if changing online - people need to know which of the 48 marae listed were in those rohenga. In rohenga 4 they are: Reporua, Umuariki, Ruataupare, Mangahanea, Uepohatu, Rauru and Te Heapera. In rohenga 7 they are: Anaura, Hinemaurea ki Mangatuna, Okuri, Puketawai, Hauiti, Rawheoro, Whangara and Poho o Rawiri.

  • To update registration details, click here.
  • New registration? click here.

Some concerns raised about changing Rohenga:

In response to people concerned about whether they would 'lose anything' by shifting rohenga it was explained they would not. Once the only rohe was the traditional one - Potikirua (Hicks Bay-East Cape)  ki Te Toka a Taiau (Gisborne). The 14 rohenga were put in place purely to enable representation to the TRONP Board. There is no monetary or other tangible benefit to belonging to one rohenga or another. However, this year a vote can make a big difference. And the call is to vote for one of the taurahere candidates. 

Candidates introduced:

Tina and Mei were introduced to the hui and each both spoke briefly about their priorities as candidates for the elections and answered questions from the hui. Profiles are available here for Mei and here for Tina.

Cultural Working Group:

Rowena thanked whanau for all their support with the passing of her mum, Parae Wirepa. 

Finance Working Group:

George provided a brief overview of the taurahere finances. No longer in the red, George explained that very little money was raised from the Matariki dinner as, although all tickets had been reported as being 'sold', we discovered on the night that about 10 tickets were not. This meant the taurahere still had to pay for those 10 meals - which is where the 'profit' went. Nonetheless, as a celebration of whakawhanaungatanga the evening was a huge success.

  • Waiata: Hikurangi te maunga.
  • Karakia: Cecilia Rooderkerk
  • Kapu ti
  • Registration forms were completed.

END: 2pm